Ferrara / Italy

My Response to: Let’s Make Piadine!

If you haven’t seen this yet, then check it out. It’s my friend Ellie’s little Italian Cooking section on her blog, where she shares her tips and tricks (learnt from her trusty cooking classes) on rustling up some highlights of the Italian cuisine.

So I decided that instead of buying a classic ready-made Piadina from the supermarket today, that I’d make my own following this simple recipe.

The local supermarket unfortunately did not provide me with any bicarbonate of soda but when halving the mixture as I didn’t want 7 (!) I thought/hoped maybe I could go without a quarter of a teaspoon. I also battled through without a rolling pin, using the neck of a wooden spoon in place, so I think they could have been a little thinner.

But overall, I was quite impressed, what do you think?

My first ever homemade piadina filled with ricotta, prosciutto and rocket
My first ever homemade piadina filled with ricotta, prosciutto and rocket

As you can see from Ellie’s recipe these are super easy to make and really tasty and filling, not to mention very Italian.

4 thoughts on “My Response to: Let’s Make Piadine!

Leave a Reply

